Farewell Father (Bapu-Bapuji-Father)

It was early morning of Christmas 2010. Beautiful powdery snow had fallen during night covering the ground in pure white color. My sisters and their family had gathered at our house for Christmas celebration. December 25th was picture perfect day, just like it has been described in the Christmas stories.

It was Sunday, January 2, 2011 when my sister Indu and her husband Mohanlal visited my father.

Since that day, Bapuji begin to say things that were divine. Somehow he knew that his death is near and his telephone conversation with my sister, Indu, was absolutely precise and to the point that his Swaminarayan Lord had come to visit him and had assured him that all the preparations are in place and that the Lord had dispatched two sadhus (saint) to take him home.

Bapuji begin to have chest pain on Monday, January 3, 2011. Dr. Thatti came to visit him and only then we found out that he may have suffered heart attack. Bapuji was transferred to Williamson Medical Center for further checkup. The emergency room’s attending physician had stabilized my dad when I went to see him. I found my dad very cheerful, peaceful and fully alert. The cardiologist suggested that we do angiogram in the morning.

At about 9:47pm my dad called me and told me to take good care of myself and our family, that he was very appreciative of the hospital staff who took special care of him. He was thankful to them and our family members for taking care of him during his golden years following my mom’s death on March 16, 2002.

At about 1:00am, I received a call from the hospital that my dad’s heart had stopped working. I along with my wife, Lata and my son, Vivek, went to the hospital and bid farewell to my loving father at 1:51am, Wednesday, January 5, 2010. My Daughter, Zarna, stayed home in case of emergency and was brought to the hospital later.

My dad was a divine person, living a lifestyle based on BHAKTI (DEVOTION) and RIGHTOUSNESS. He never hated or spoke ill words for anyone. He never eat or wore new cloths without first offering to his Lord Swaminarayan.

In his final moments, such discipline brought peace and comfort to his soul. Most importantly, it brought special joy to all who came to know him. Sadhu Sobhitswaruppswami and his bhajans during the funeral brought peace to our soul, especially mine. I know that is exactly the way BAPUJI would have preferred.

Bapu, I am so glad that you gave me a privilege to be your son. I wish and pray you will give me the same opportunity in my next life. Please bless me so I can learn to live with your BHAKTI and RIGHTOUSNESS.

I bid you farewell Bapuji, may you find happiness in AKSHARDHAM with LORD SWAMINARAYAN and your life partner and my MOTHER, DHANUBA.

About tarunsurti

Laharen ka Sagar - (waves of Ocean) - (78)
This entry was posted in Death, Farewell, Father, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Farewell Father (Bapu-Bapuji-Father)

  1. Mahesh Randerwala says:

    May his soul rest in peace in Akshardham. Our thoughts & Prayers are with him.

  2. Knowing him through you is a fortunate. May his soul rest in peace and may you and your family find strength in high spiritual values that he led during his life.

  3. ashoke menon says:

    I know that “words are poor comforters, only the heart knows the sorrow”. I felt the same way when my father passed away. The things that gave me comfort were continuing to celebrate his life, his words and his actions and knowing that the Lord is and was with him. I wish you His peace and His strength to support you and your family. God Bless you!

  4. Bimal says:

    RIP bhapu!

  5. Prem says:

    Beautiful. Coming from the heart from a well nurtured son

Leave a Reply

